Mississippi’s highest court is the Mississippi Supreme Court. The court has six associate justices, two presiding justices, and one chief justice. The chief justice is selected by seniority. (Source: Mississippi Bar Association)

Judicial Selection

Mississippi Supreme Court justices are selected for an eight-year term through a nonpartisan election, where multiple candidates may vie for the seat. Justices may seek additional terms through nonpartisan elections. When a seat opens in the middle of a justice’s term, the governor appoints a candidate to fill the vacancy. If less than half of the vacated term remains, the appointed justice serves the remainder of the unexpired term. If more than half of the term remains, the appointed justice holds office until Mississippi’s next general election more than nine months after the vacancy occurred. The elected justice serves the remainder of the unexpired term. There are no term limits, nor is there a mandatory retirement age.

State Constitution

Mississippi has had four state constitutions adopted between 1817 and 1890. As of January 1, 2024, it had 127 amendments. (Source: John Dinan, 2024)



Sole footer logo

A project of the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law