North Dakota

North Dakota’s highest court is the North Dakota Supreme Court. The court has four justices and one chief justice. The chief justice is chosen for a five-year term by other members of the supreme court along with district judges. (Source: State of North Dakota Courts)

Judicial Selection

North Dakota Supreme Court justices are selected through a nonpartisan election, where multiple candidates may vie for the seat. The elected justice serves a 10-year term. Justices may seek additional terms through nonpartisan elections. When a seat opens in the middle of a justice’s term, the governor appoints a candidate from a list provided by a judicial nominating commission. Alternatively, the governor may fill the seat by calling for a special election. An appointed justice holds office until North Dakota’s next general election more than two years after appointment, unless the remainder of the seat’s term runs out before then. The elected justice serves the remainder of the unexpired term. There are no term limits, nor is there a mandatory retirement age.

State Constitution

North Dakota’s first and only state constitution was adopted in 1889. As of January 1, 2024, it had 162 amendments. (Source: John Dinan, 2024)


Sole footer logo

A project of the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law