Arizona’s highest court is the Arizona Supreme Court. The court consists of five justices, one vice chief justice, and one chief justice. The chief justice and vice chief justice are selected by a majority of the court. The chief justice serves a five-year term and the vice chief justice’s term is determined by the court. (Source: Arizona Supreme Court)

Judicial Selection

The governor appoints Arizona Supreme Court justices from a list provided by a judicial nominating commission. After at least two years on the court, the justice can stand for a six-year term in an unopposed yes/no retention vote in Arizona’s next general election. Justices can stand for additional terms through retention elections. The governor fills interim vacancies from a list provided by the judicial nominating commission. The mandatory retirement age is 70.

State Constitution

Arizona’s first and only constitution was adopted in 1911. As of January 1, 2024, it had 160 amendments. (Source: John Dinan, 2024)

Sole footer logo

A project of the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law