Oregon’s highest court is the Oregon Supreme Court. The court has six justices and one chief justice, who is selected for a six-year term by the other members of the court. (Source: Oregon Judicial Branch

Judicial Selection

Justices on the Oregon Supreme Court are selected to a six-year term through a nonpartisan election, where multiple candidates may vie for the seat. Justices may seek additional terms through participating in a nonpartisan election. To fill an interim vacancy, the governor appoints a candidate, who holds office until Oregon’s next general election that takes place more than 61 days after the appointment. The elected justice serves a six-year term. There are no term limits. The mandatory retirement age is 75.

State Constitution

Oregon’s first and only state constitution was adopted in 1857. As of January 1, 2024, it had 262 amendments. (Source: John Dinan, 2024)



Sole footer logo

A project of the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law