Minnesota’s highest court is called the Minnesota Supreme Court. The court has six associate justices and one chief justice. The chief justice is chosen in the same manner as the associate justices. (Source: Minnesota Constitution

Judicial Selection

Minnesota Supreme Court justices are chosen to serve a six-year term through a nonpartisan election, where multiple candidates may vie for the seat. Justices may seek additional terms through nonpartisan elections. When a seat becomes open in the middle of a justice’s term, the governor appoints a candidate to fill the vacancy. The justice holds office until Minnesota’s next general election more than one year after the appointment, unless the remainder of the seat’s term runs out before then. Multiple candidates may vie for a six-year term in a nonpartisan election. There are no term limits. The mandatory retirement age is 70. 

State Constitution

Minnesota’s first and only constitution was adopted in 1857. As of January 1, 2024, it had 121 amendments. (Source: John Dinan, 2024)



Sole footer logo

A project of the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law