Alaska’s highest court is the Alaska Supreme Court. The court consists of five justices who select the chief justice for a three-year term by majority vote. The chief justice may not serve consecutive terms. (Source: Alaska Supreme Court)

Judicial Selection

The governor appoints Alaska Supreme Court justices from a list provided by a judicial nominating commission. After at least three years on the bench, the justice may stand for a 10-year term in an unopposed yes/no retention vote in Alaska’s next general election. Justices may stand for additional terms through retention elections. The governor fills interim vacancies from a list provided by the judicial nominating commission. The mandatory retirement age is 70.

State Constitution

Alaska’s first and only constitution was adopted in 1956. As of January 1, 2024, it had 29 amendments. (Source: John Dinan, 2024)

Sole footer logo

A project of the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law