South Carolina

South Carolina’s highest court is the Supreme Court of South Carolina. The court has four associate justices and one chief justice. The chief justice is selected according to the same procedures as their peers on the court. (Source: South Carolina Judicial Branch)

Judicial Selection

The legislature appoints justices to a 10-year term on the Supreme Court of South Carolina selected from a list provided by a judicial nominating commission. Justices may stand for reappointment by the legislature to additional terms in the same appointment process. To fill an interim vacancy, the legislature votes to appoint a judicial candidate from a list provided by a judicial nominating commission. If less than one year remains of the unexpired term the governor may appoint a candidate instead. The appointed justice serves the remainder of the unexpired term. There are no term limits. The mandatory retirement age is 72.

State Constitution

South Carolina has had seven state constitutions adopted between 1776 and 1895. As of January 1, 2024, it had 502 amendments. (Source: John Dinan, 2024)



Sole footer logo

A project of the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law