Ohio’s highest court is the Supreme Court of Ohio. The court has six justices and one chief justice. The chief justice is chosen by election for a six-year term. (Source: Ohio Constitution)

Judicial Selection

Justices on the Supreme Court of Ohio are selected through a partisan election, where multiple candidates may vie for the seat. The elected justice serves a six-year term. Justices may seek additional terms through partisan elections. When a seat opens in the middle of a justice’s term, the governor appoints a candidate to fill the vacancy. The appointed justice holds office until Ohio’s next general election more than 40 days after the vacancy occurred, unless the remainder of the term concludes within a year of said election, in which case the appointed justice serves the remainder of the unexpired term. If there is an election, the elected justice serves the remainder of the unexpired term. There are no term limits, however, a justice may not be appointed or elected after age 70.

State Constitution

Ohio has had two constitutions adopted in 1802 and 1851. As of January 1, 2024, it had 180 amendments. (Source: John Dinan, 2024)


Sole footer logo

A project of the Brennan Center for Justice at NYU Law